In brief, the early history of Iskandar Puteri City Council began with the establishment of 8 Local Councils during the 60s which was under the Town Board Enactment 118. Due to the residents’ growth and increase in asset, on March 1st, 1978 Johor Bahru Tengah Municipal was formed under the Local Government Act 1976 (Act 171) that covered areas of 104.7 km2 with total residents of 150,000 people.

From this continuous growth, in year 1995, the Johor Bahru Tengah Municipal's administration areas had been widen up to 303.48 km2 with total asset increased to 98,515 units and the number of residents increased by 500,000 people.

Background of Local Council

Skudai Local Council
Lima Kedai Local Council
Gelang Patah Local Council
Kangkar Pulai Local Council
Ulu Choh Local Council
Ulu Tiram Local Council
Plentong Local Council
Masai Local Council